MinecraftHub.io
Explainer

What Marketplace Pass is and how it differs from Minecoins

Marketplace Pass rents a rotating catalog of Bedrock content for a monthly fee, while Minecoins buy single items to keep. This page sets out what each covers and what happens when a pass ends.

Published Updated Checked

Minecraft Marketplace Pass is a monthly subscription for Bedrock Edition that unlocks a rotating catalog of creator-made worlds, add-ons, skin packs and texture packs for $3.99 USD a month. Mojang says it is not supported on Java Edition. Content bought outright with Minecoins is a separate route, covered below.

Everything here comes from Minecraft.net pages and an Xbox Support page, read on 10 October 2026. We read them and did not buy, subscribe or test anything.

What Marketplace Pass is

The Marketplace is Mojang's hub for creator-made Bedrock content. Marketplace Pass gives access to a curated slice of it. Minecraft.net says the catalog is refreshed monthly and includes worlds, mini-games, add-ons, skin packs, texture packs and mash-up packs. The announcement post (13 March 2024) gives the price as $3.99 USD a month and says prices vary by region.

Each month a subscriber can also claim a set of time-limited Character Creator items. Once claimed, those stay yours even after the subscription ends.

What Minecoins buy

Mojang's free-weekend post says that buying a piece of content outright with Minecoins lets you keep it forever. Xbox Support says content bought once on Xbox console or PC has no expiration. Subscribers also get a Marketplace Pass content discount for buying items they want to keep, according to the same free-weekend post.

Xbox Support's Marketplace FAQ lists questions on gifting Minecoins, converting them back to real currency and refunds. The answers were not readable in what we read, so we state none of them.

Pass and Minecoins side by side

Marketplace Pass compared with Minecoin purchases, from Minecraft.net and Xbox Support pages read 10 October 2026
PointMarketplace PassMinecoins
What you getAccess to a catalog of Marketplace content, plus monthly Character Creator itemsContent purchased outright, per Mojang's free-weekend post
Price$3.99 USD per month, varies by regionNot stated in the pages we read
OwnershipAccess lasts while the item is in the catalog and the subscription is activeKept forever, per Mojang's free-weekend post
EditionBedrock Edition onlyNot stated in the pages we read; Xbox Support covers Xbox console and PC purchases

What happens when a pass ends

Mojang's FAQ gives three separate outcomes. When a world, texture pack, skin pack or mash-up leaves the catalog, you must buy it from the Marketplace to keep using it. Packs are not deleted from local storage until you delete them. When the subscription itself ends, world templates saved to your cloud storage can be bought and downloaded within 18 months, unless Minecraft no longer offers them.

Character Creator items you claimed are yours to keep in both cases. Mojang's free-weekend post adds one limit: paid content downloaded during a promotion was removed afterwards. Worlds you built remained, but add-on features applied to them stopped being active.

What is Bedrock only

Marketplace Pass needs a compatible Bedrock Edition with the Marketplace (sold separately) and a Microsoft account sign-in. Mojang states it is not supported on Amazon Kindle Fire or Java Edition. Content follows your Microsoft account across supported devices. For how the two editions differ, see Minecraft Java vs Bedrock Edition, and for device play see Is Minecraft Cross Platform.

Realms Plus and the free trial

Realms Plus includes Marketplace Pass and the same catalog. It adds a personal Realm for you and up to ten friends. Active Realms Plus subscribers cannot subscribe to the Pass separately. First-time subscribers get a 30-day trial, per the 2024 announcement. It excludes existing and prior Pass members, Realms Plus members and Switch users, and billing continues at the regular rate unless cancelled.

What this means if you use add-ons or packs

Add-ons are Bedrock Edition only, and Java Edition cannot load them. For more on that route, read what Bedrock add-ons are, browse the Bedrock add-on listing, and see installing add-ons on Bedrock for how they go in.

Which one suits which player

The Pass suits someone who wants to try many items and accepts losing access when an item leaves the catalog or the subscription stops. Minecoins suit someone who wants specific items for good. Mojang's own advice is Realms Plus for playing with friends and the Pass for solo play. We cannot say which costs less for you: Minecoin prices and catalog size are not in the pages we read.

Sources

  1. 1.Introducing Minecraft Marketplace Pass (minecraft.net, read 10 October 2026)
  2. 2.Say hello to Marketplace Pass (minecraft.net, 13 March 2024)
  3. 3.About the Minecraft Marketplace on XBOX and PC (XBOX Support, read 10 October 2026)
  4. 4.Try Marketplace Pass for Free (minecraft.net, July free weekend post)