MinecraftHub.io
Comparison

Modrinth App vs CurseForge app vs Prism Launcher

Three launchers for Java mods and modpacks set side by side on platforms, mod sources, instances, licence and maker, using only what their own pages state.

Published Checked

Pick the Modrinth App if you mostly play Modrinth mods and want open source code. Pick the CurseForge app if your modpack lives on CurseForge. Pick Prism Launcher if you want one launcher that searches both. All three are for Java mods.

This is a short guide to the launcher side of modding. Once you have chosen, the mods themselves are listed on our Minecraft Java mods page. Facts come from each launcher's own page, read on 18 October 2026. We did not run, time or test any of them, so there are no speed or stability verdicts here.

The three launchers at a glance

Facts each launcher's own page states, read 18 October 2026. A dash means that page says nothing on it.
FactModrinth AppCurseForge appPrism Launcher
MakerModrinth, the site that hosts the mods it readsOverwolfNot stated on the page we read
PlatformsWindows, Mac, Linux (Flathub, AppImage, DEB, RPM)Windows, macOS, Linux (AppImage, Deb), desktop onlyNot stated on the page we read
Mod sourcesModrinth mods and modpacksCurseForge mods, across many gamesModrinth and CurseForge, chosen per search
Source codeOpen source, code on GitHubNot stated as open source; Overwolf terms applyNot stated on the page we read
PriceNo price on the pagePremium from $2.50 a month, which removes adsNo price on the page
Release statusLabelled BetaNot labelled betaNot stated on the page we read

What each launcher is and who makes it

The Modrinth App is described by Modrinth as an open source launcher for playing mods and keeping them up to date. It is made by the same company that runs the Modrinth site, and its download page is marked Beta.

The CurseForge app is built by Overwolf. Its page offers a lightweight standalone app or an Overwolf variant with extra in-play features. Using either means agreeing to Overwolf's terms and privacy policy.

Prism Launcher is documented on its own wiki. The page we read covers how to download mods, not who maintains the project, so we state no maker or funding for it.

Platforms each launcher runs on

The Modrinth App lists Windows, Mac and Linux. Its own page adds a warning: the Linux builds are known to have problems on certain systems, and it points those users to Prism Launcher for installing Modrinth content. The CurseForge app is desktop only, with Windows, macOS and Linux downloads. The Prism page we read lists no platforms.

Which mod and modpack sources each launcher reads

This is the difference that decides most choices. The Modrinth App reads the mods and modpacks hosted on Modrinth, and ties into the Modrinth website. The CurseForge app reads CurseForge, which also hosts mods for other titles such as The Sims 4 and Stardew Valley.

Prism Launcher's mod search lets you pick Modrinth or CurseForge. Its wiki says Modrinth leans toward free and open-source mods, that some older mods may exist only on CurseForge, and that many mods are on both. Modrinth modpacks in the .mrpack format can also be opened by Prism, according to the standard install facts we hold. Our modpack install guide covers both pack types. For the two mod sites themselves, see Modrinth vs CurseForge.

How each launcher handles instances

The Modrinth App can import instances from the launcher you used before. A September 2026 update added syncing of options, servers and resource packs across instances, and an August 2026 update added instance groups and custom icons. It also has a skin selector.

In Prism Launcher you create an instance first, then open its Edit menu. A Version tab sets the mod loader, and a Mods tab downloads mods into that instance. The wiki lists Fabric, Forge, NeoForge and Quilt. It notes Fabric is available from 1.14, Forge fits 1.20.1 and below, and NeoForge is the usual choice above 1.20.1. If you are unsure which loader a pack wants, read Fabric vs Forge vs NeoForge.

The CurseForge page promises built-in management tools, easy updates and version control, and says nothing more about how instances are organised. Its page also claims it is safe and trusted; that is Overwolf's own wording, which we did not check. Our CurseForge safety article looks at that question separately.

Licence and how each is funded

The Modrinth App page says it is fully open source and links the code on GitHub. The pack holds no licence file, so we do not name the licence. The CurseForge page does not call the app open source. It states that 70% of ad revenue goes to authors, that $18M+ has been paid to creators since 2020, and that Premium removes ads and funds authors further. The Prism page we read states no licence or funding.

Which launcher suits which player

  • Your pack or mods are on Modrinth, and you want open source code: the Modrinth App. Expect a Beta label and, on Linux, a warning from its own page. The Modrinth App guide shows how it works.
  • Your pack is hosted on CurseForge: the CurseForge app. It is desktop only, tied to Overwolf's terms, and ad-supported unless you pay for Premium. If it will not start, see Fix CurseForge not launching Minecraft.
  • You mix mods from both sites, or you are on Linux and the Modrinth App is unstable: Prism Launcher, since its mod search covers both sites and the Modrinth page itself points Linux users there. Setup is more manual, with the loader chosen per instance.

A loader choice comes first whichever launcher you use. The Fabric install guide and the Forge and NeoForge guide cover it, and installing mods on Java shows the manual route with no launcher.

Sources

  1. 1.Modrinth App download page (modrinth.com, read 18 October 2026)
  2. 2.Downloading Mods, Prism Launcher Wiki (prismlauncher.org, read 18 October 2026)
  3. 3.CurseForge app download page (curseforge.com, read 18 October 2026)

Related guides.

Browse all articles ↗